• 2017

    Branford returns to the studio with Kurt Elling

    Reuniting with Kurt Elling, Branford co-produces and makes a guest appearance on Elling’s Grammy nominated 2018 recording, The Questions.

  • 2017

    The Joy of Jazz in Johannesburg

    At the end of September, the quartet travels to Johannesburg, South Africa for two concerts at the Joy of Jazz Festival. Branford also meets students at the Music Academy of Gauteng for a master class.

  • 2017

    Branford Marsalis Quartet with special guest Kurt Elling final tour

    Rounding out the touring for their album, Upward Spiral, the band returns to Europe with great reviews. They head to Bucharest, Romania, Warsaw, Poland, Krakow, Poland, Verona, Italy, London, UK, Marseille, France, Amsterdam, Netherlands among other cities.

  • 2017

    Monterey Jazz Festival - A Tribute to Sonny Rollins

    Branford joins Jimmy Heath, Joe Lovano, Joshua Redman, Gerald Clayton, Scott Colley & Lewis Nash for a concert at the Monterey Jazz Festival for a Tribute to Sonny Rollins

  • 2017

    Branford returns to Chicago to perform with the Chicago Symphony Orchestra

    Branford joins the Chicago Symphony Orchestra for three concerts performing Fauré: Pavane for Soprano Saxophone and John Williams: Escapades for Alto Saxophone from Catch Me If You Can.

  • 2017

    Branford receives an Honorary Doctorate of Letter from Tulane University in New Orleans, LA

    Branford Marsalis is awarded an honorary degree for his musical achievements and for his work rebuilding his hometown after Hurricane Katrina.

  • 2017

    Branford composes and records music for HBO’s movie, The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks.

    The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks is released on HBO. A drama television film directed by George C. Wolfe and starring Oprah Winfrey and Rose Byrne. It is based on the book of the same name by Rebecca Skloot and documents the story of Henrietta Lacks, who was diagnosed with cervical cancer in the 1950s, and whose cancer cells (later known as HeLa) would change the course of cancer treatment.